Before hitting Nevada’s roadways on your motorcycle this summer, you should be familiar with and understand the state’s traffic and safety laws for motorcycle operators and riders.

If you are injured in a motorcycle accident, Henness & Haight’s Nevada motorcycle accident attorney can help your claim to recover the compensation you deserve.

Receiving a Class M Motorcycle License or Endorsement

To legally operate a motorcycle in Nevada, you must have a valid Nevada motorcycle driver’s license or a Class M license belonging to another state.

If you are a new Nevada resident, you must have your motorcycle endorsement transferred to a Nevada motorcycle driver license within 30 days of moving.

All motorcycle operators must have a Class M endorsement on their driver’s license, which can be added to your existing license once you have met the requirements. Motorcycle operators age 18 or older must:

  • Complete an approved motorcycle operator course (passing will excuse you from the written and skills test)
  • Pass the Department of Motor Vehicles written and skills test for motorcycle operators for a $26 fee

Minors under the age of 18 attempting to obtain a Class M endorsement must comply with the additional requirements for teen drivers in Nevada:

  • Show proof of school attendance, excusal or completion
  • Complete a driver’s education course
  • Pass a vision and written knowledge test
  • Receive a learner’s permit
  • Complete 50 hours of experience driving with a licensed driver at least 21 years of age who has held