Posted on behalf of Henness & Haight on Apr 27, 2017 in Car Accident News
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident in Nevada, you must file a claim for compensation within the state’s statute of limitations.
It is important that you understand how these laws pertain to your accident and affect your claim. If you have any questions or concerns regarding filing a claim after a severe car accident, you should immediately contact an experienced attorney.
A statute of limitations serves as a state-imposed time limit for filing a lawsuit after you suffer physical injury or loss because of another’s actions.
In Nevada, car accident injuries fall under the category of personal injury claims, which have a two-year statute of limitations to pursue a claim.
Any attempt to recover personal injury or wrongful death-related damages in Nevada must be filed within the required two-year deadline.
The statute of limitations for personal injuries begins on the date of the accident. This means that once you have been in a car accident, you have two years to file a claim against the at-fault party.
If you lost someone you love in a car accident, Nevada allows a two-year deadline to file a claim against the at-fault party that begins on the date of the deceased’s death.
If your vehicle or any other personal property was damaged during an auto accident, there is a separate statute of limitations that allows you three years from the date of the accident to file a claim against the at-fault party.
If the injured victim of a car accident is a minor, Nevada requires the victim to wait until the day he or she turns 18-years-old to file a claim against the at-fault party. The victim then has a two-year deadline to take legal action.
However, the parents of a minor injured in a car accident may seek the approval of the court to file a claim against the at-fault party.
If the court approves the parents’ request to file a claim, the minor loses his or her right to take legal action against the at-fault party once he or she turns 18-years-old.
Any claim filed after the statute of limitations has passed is typically unsuccessful. If you attempt to bring a claim against a defendant after Nevada’s two-year deadline, he or she can ask the court to dismiss the claim, which the court will likely grant.
This why you must follow each deadline associated with a car accident claim. Whether you are filing a claim concerning personal injury, wrongful death or property damage, you should consult with an attorney who can ensure each deadline is met and your claim is properly handled.
If you or someone you love has been in a car accident, you should contact an attorney as soon as you are able.
At Henness & Haight, we treat every claim we accept with dedication and professionalism. We ensure that each of our clients’ cases are handled properly and efficiently to reach the fairest possible outcome.
We provide each prospective client with a free, no obligation consultation to review their claim and determine if it entitles compensation and legal action.
Our experienced attorneys work on a contingency fee basis and never charge a client upfront for legal service. We only require payment if we recover damages or a fair outcome for your claim.
Call 844.613.6275 if you have been in a car accident. Do not hesitate to seek experienced legal help.