Posted on behalf of Henness & Haight on Jun 23, 2015 in Car Accident News
For most people, use of headlights seems like common sense. When it's dark, put on your lights. If it's too dark, put on your high beams. The use of headlights, however, goes far beyond these basics. Failure to use headlights properly can result in penalties including hefty fines, and worse, puts other drivers on the road at risk.
Since headlight laws vary from state to state, it's important to educate yourself on when to use -- and when not to use -- your lights in Nevada, so if you are injured due to another driver's failure to use their lights properly, you can get compensated for your injury.
Any time from 30 minutes following sunset until a half hour before sunrise, drivers are required to have your lights on. In addition, any time environmental conditions reduce visibility to under 1,000 feet, motorists should use their lights. High beams are good for situations where it is too dark for normal headlights. However, if there is approaching traffic within 500 feet, or trailing traffic within 300 feet, no driver should use high beams, as this runs the chance of blinding others. If you have ever been on the receiving end of this, you know the danger it poses.
Normal cars, SUVs, vans and small trucks such as pickup trucks are required to have two headlights at the front of the vehicle. Motorcycles must have one headlight at the front of the vehicle. Extra amber-colored clearance lamps are required for vehicles over 80 inches wide.
Auxiliary passing lights, or blinkers, may be mounted on the vehicle's front between 24 and 42 inches in height, and no more than two may be present. Fog lamps may be used, mounted between 12 and 30 inches high, and high-beams from these may project no more than 4 inches above the lamp's center out to 25 feet. Mo more than four auxiliary lights can be lit at any given time if any lamp has a brightness of equal to or over 300 candlepower.
Failure to use headlights properly in Nevada carries fines and penalties, including demerit points which can accrue until drivers can lose their license pending completion of a driver's safety course. Non-functional headlights, lack of headlights or failure to dim headlights carries a fine of $151. This fine is in addition to court fees. Headlight violations in Nevada can also carry a penalty of 2 demerit points. When you accrue 3 to 11 demerit points, you can have three removed through completion of a driver's safety course. If you accrue 12 demerit points, your license will be suspended for 6 months.
Have you been the victim of an accident caused by another driver whose improperly using their headlights? Were you or a loved one injured as a result? Remember, it's not your fault, and you shouldn't try to handle the situation alone. A qualified Las Vegas personal injury attorney is your best hope for the compensation you deserve. Check out our firm overview, and give us a call today for a free consultation. We are here to fight for your rights.